News & Blog


Wright State University Full-Time Non-Tenure Track Faculty Vote to Unionize

Wright State University Full-Time  Non-Tenure Track Faculty Vote to Unionize

By a vote of 92 Yes to 29 No, the full-time non-tenure track (FTNTT) faculty at Wright State University voted overwhelmingly to have the Wright State University Chapter of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP-WSU) represent them as their exclusive bargaining agent. 

The votes were counted at the State Employment Relations Board (SERB) in Columbus on Tuesday, October 9, 2012.

The vote demonstrates the dissatisfaction of the FTNTT faculty with the WSU administration’s unilateral imposition of a one-size-fits-all teaching load on this group of faculty.

A faculty committee representing the FTNTT faculty worked for two years on an alternative teaching load policy, which was passed by the University’s Faculty Senate. However, the university administration ignored the Senate’s recommendation and unilaterally imposed a new teaching load policy.

Professor Martin Kich, president of AAUP-WSU, said in a statement, “This is a group of faculty who do a substantial portion of the undergraduate teaching at Wright State University, and their teaching conditions represent our students learning conditions. We are very concerned that the increasing teaching load for this group of faculty will degrade the quality of education that we provide to our students.”

The new bargaining unit will represent approximately 175 full-time non-tenure track faculty. The tenure track faculty are already represented by AAUP-WSU.

Congratulations to all of those who worked hard to make this happen! 

 Ohio Conference AAUP Communications Committee

Other News


Michelle Flanigan for STRS Retirement Board


5 Updates for Members


SB 83 Stalls Again