News & Blog


Welcome President Kich!

On September 1, Marty Kich, Professor of English from Wright State University, became the new president of the Ohio Conference AAUP.

Prof. Kich was first elected to the Ohio Conference board in 2009 as an at-large representative, and since 2012, he has served as vice president. He has chaired the Communications, Organizing, Adjunct Faculty, Nominating, and Personnel Committees. In 2012-2013, he was largely responsible for the major overhaul of the Conference’s Code of Regulations to accommodate the transition from a 501(c)(3) to a 501(c)(6) and to enlarge the membership of the Board of Trustees.

In addition, Kich served as president of the Wright State chapter from 2011 to 2019. Previous to that, he served one term as vice president and four terms as an at-large representative on the chapter’s executive committee. He has served the chapter as a member of its negotiating team, as editor of its newsletter, and as an assistant grievance officer, and he currently maintains the chapter’s website.

On the national level, Kich served three terms as an at-large member of the Executive Committee of the Collective Bargaining Congress. He has co-edited the Academe Blog, has served on the editorial board of Academe, has guest-edited two issues of Academe, and has served as a frequent contact for national and regional media outlets. He has also served on the Committee for Teaching, Research, and Publication, on a number of nominating committees.

Moreover, he has been honored with the Marilyn Sternberg Award from the National AAUP for activism on behalf of human rights, political advocacy, effective engagement in collective bargaining and defense of collective bargaining rights, and the promotion of the AAUP principles of academic freedom, shared governance, and tenure and the economic security of the professoriate. He has also received the William S. Tacey Award from the Association of State Conferences for outstanding and sustained service to a state conference.

He has received the Trustees’ Award for Faculty Excellence from Wright State University for a sustained and balanced contribution to the teaching, research, and professional service mission of the university. A founding member of the Association for the University Regional Campuses of Ohio, he has received its Distinguished Service Award. And he has received the Lake Campus’ Outstanding Faculty Award and its awards for Outstanding Scholarship and Outstanding Service.

We are fortunate to have Marty Kich’s experience and activism at the helm of the Conference!

Other News


We did it again. SB 83 is stalled again.


Urgent Action Alert: Remind Reps It’s a NO on SB 83


Michelle Flanigan for STRS Retirement Board