View News

back to News & Media

Reichman, Calafato to Headline Annual Meeting Events
Reichman, Calafato Will Headline Annual Meeting

OCAAUP's 65th Annual Meeting will be held November 6-7, 2015 at the Renaissance Columbus Downtown Hotel. 

Hank Reichman
Hank Reichman, Chair of the AAUP's Committee on Academic Freedom and Tenure, as well as Chair of the AAUP Foundation, will deliver a talk at the Friday evening dinner, which will explore the issue of academic freedom in the social media realm. 

In addition, performance artist and Ohio native Aaron Calafato will provide the Saturday luncheon entertainment with his monologue "For Profit," which is an inside look at the for-profit 
Aaron Calafato
educational industry, the $1 trillion student debt crisis, and a vibrant portrayal of the exploitation of the American student. 

Moreover, AAUP Senior Counsel Aaron Nisenson will address the pending U.S. Supreme Court case Friedrichs v. California Teachers Association, as well as recent rulings from the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) that impact organizing opportunities for private university faculty.

You now can register for the 2015 OCAAUP Annual Meeting online via this event registration page

That page contains all of the preliminary details about the event, including start times for Friday and Saturday and information about reserving a hotel room for Friday. In order to get the significantly discounted block room rate, reservations must be made by October 6.

Registration is only $25. We hope to see you in November!


Proposed Change to Code of Regulations

During the business portion of the Annual Meeting, delegates will be asked to consider a change to OCAAUP's Code of Regulations - what we call our constitution and by-laws. 

Under Article IV of the Code, it currently reads: "Each Ohio chapter current on its dues to the Ohio Conference with more than 100 members will be entitled to one voting representative to the Board."

AAUP-KSU (Kent State University) has submitted an amendment that, if approved, would have that section read: "Each Ohio chapter or bargaining unit current on its dues to the Ohio Conference with more than 100 members will be entitled to one voting representative to the Board."

AAUP-KSU has two distinct bargaining units for its Full-Time Tenure Track faculty and Full-Time Non-Tenure Track faculty, both of which have more than 100 members. While the bargaining units act in concert together in certain ways, they bargain separately, have separate executive committees, and sometimes have different interests. As such, they believe that this change to the Code better reflects that not every collective bargaining chapter has their FTTTs and FTNTTs folded into one unit and thus should be permitted separate representation on the OCAAUP Board.

*A note about voting rights at the Annual Meeting:

Per Article VI of the Code of Regulations: 

With the exception of elections, voting shall be by delegates of the AAUP chapters in the 
State of Ohio present at the Conference meeting Chapters with 7-150 members shall have one vote; Chapters with 151 to 300 members shall have two votes; and chapters with more than 300 members shall have three votes.

For purposes of representation, each AAUP member at an institution of higher education
in Ohio at which there is no chartered AAUP chapter shall be entitled to be a member of 
a single statewide chapter, called the State Chapter. This State Chapter may nominate and elect officers, who shall in turn provide for the nomination and election of delegates to
the Ohio Conference.